Happy Mother’s Day

Happy Mother’s Day to all of the Mothers out there.  Hoping your day is blessed with your family around you, cooking for you or taking you out to eat.  My hubby bought a Teddy Bear for me and I received a mini Petunias plant from my son.

IMG_20160508_152941

I would like to honor several Mothers that were in my  life through the years.  The first and foremost is my Mom.  I love her always.   When I was growing up, she heard and saw everything.   She sure knew everything I did.  I accused her of having a private detective following me.   She always told me, “When you get older  and have kids, you will understand.”  I had gotten good at mimicking her,  I would say never mind, I know, “I will understand when I get older.”  Her hearing was very keen…I would go in the kitchen to take a peek at what she was cooking.   I would hear her say, “Joan, get out of the pot.  I would barely lift the lid.  How I miss her.  She passed in ’98.

The second woman is my first mother -in -law, Mom B,  she was so down to earth, had that coon ass accent’ and I loved to hear her talk.  She took my side on several occasions when my first husband would get verbal to me.  He was a fanatic when it came to LSU and the N.O. Saints.  After he and I split, I continued to call her every few years.  She passed in 2014.

The third was my second Mother-in-law, Mom L.  She and I shared several cig breaks. She loved me as I did her, and was happy that her son met his match…more than his match, ha, ha, ha.  She would sit there and smile when I told her that I would take good care of her son…she knew.  She has since passed also.

 My sisters, Jackie and Mary, whom I love with all my heart, also great Mothers.  My two sister-in-laws, Gail and Wanda, whom are wonderful mothers and great friends.   My three besties in Metairie, La, Alisa, Ellen and Tari.  All great Moms and their daughters/daughter-in-laws.   My friends in FL., there are five, Winona,  Deb,  Cindy,  Debbie and Kim also have and had a great influence on me.

Today I will relax, I don’t have to cook ’cause I cooked Fajitas yesterday, well actually Fajitas stir fry because we didn’t us the tortillas.  Came out real good and I didn’t take a picture of the Fajitas, sorry…..next time I will.

I don’t know what I’m going to do today, but more than likely I will be sewing on my last panel of my quilt.  I cut the last four panel squares out first then sewed all of the blocks and then I will sew the panels of the last four.  I have decided on the black/gray sashing and two borders.  First one will be the sashing and the second one will be with two inch squares of the colors I used in the quilt.  Sooo….the fifth writing on the quilt will be when the top is done, totally.

My hubby and I have decided that we will send the top out to be quilted and finish.  I do not have the free motion quilting experience yet, actually I tried once, but didn’t like the feel of the feed dogs being down.  I know, I know….I need to practice, and I will when I have time.  But after I finish my top, I go straight into sewing my niece’s baby quilt.  After that,  I will be doing Chili Cook-Off hot pads for the “2017” Cook-Off.  I have the design drawn for the pads and I’m really excited about it.  I also have “The Splendid Sampler,” with Pat Sloan and Jane Davidson, and 85 other designers and “The Secret Garden,” by Pat Sloan.  Check them out, you might just get caught up in it…:-).

I guess I can say I’ve designed all the things I’ve quilted, not the squares themselves, but the way I ended up sewing it.  But no matter how you design it, you will find another one like it…the  design, itself.   I guess that is to be expected with so many squares, quilts, and designs out there.

My goodness, I did ramble on today, but I wanted to acknowledge all the great women in my life.  Sit back and think about all the great women in your life that influenced you and thank them.

I decided to take a bubble bath and relax…..

 

IMG_20160508_114932.jpgIMG_20160508_114941

Happy Mother’s Day, all…Later.

Leave a Reply

