My King Size Quilt Part III

Let me start by saying I have been busy and have had hardly any time to post on my blog.  We have finally found out what my hubby’s problem is and it can be corrected by surgery.  That is a relief to both of us.  So after the first of the year he will be feeling better.  Yeah…..

Now on to the quilt and recipes…..

I finally put together the first nine blocks, block.  It is big and no I haven’t measured it, but it consists of 12 1/2 inch blocks.  So here it is:

I turned it around so you can see the bottom blocks.  Today I will finish three more blocks for the second panel of blocks.  Hopefully I can finish the panel.  If not, I’ll finish it tomorrow.

I have also been busy cooking.  I have had a gourmet tooth the last few days and made several dishes.  One I actually heard about the other day at The Greater Outdoors in High.Springs, Florida.  We were having a couple of drinks and eating at the bar and talking to a guy that just moved to Florida.

The talk turned to cooking and rouxs (gravy).  He was telling me about a sauce that he put on his steak that was great.  It is called Marchaud de Vin and it sounded great to me, so much so that I made it the next day.  So here is the recipe that I got off of Pinterest.

IMG_20151213_122614_burst_01

Marchaud de Vin

1 lge. clove of garlic
1/2 c. green onions
1/2 c. mushrooms
1 med. onion
3 small sweet peppers
1/2 stalk of celery
1/3 c. diced ham
1 bay leaf
1/2 tsp. thyme
2 c. beef broth (I used 1 can of consumme’ and one cup water)
parsley
1/2 c. dry red wine
6 tbl. butter
1/3 c. flour

Melt butter in skillet, saute’ gr. onions, onions, garlic, celery, sweet peppers, mushrooms and ham. Saute’ until wilted. Blend in flour then add water, Worcestershire, bay leaf, thyme, wine, consumme’. Cook until broth thickens. Salt and pepper to taste.

The sauce was excellent, but rich.  I could gave used a little more water.  You have to take in consideration, the salt intake, because the butter and consumme’  had salt in them and I therefore didn’t add anymore salt.  I had a great time making the recipe and the sides that went with it.  If you make it, let me know what you think.  Later….

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

