Recipes

Cobb Salad

IMG_20150829_115900

I have been trying to get my husband to eat and trying creative ways can be fun.  Let me tell you where this all began.

In February, our doctor sent my husband to the hospital.  He had not been feeling well, could hardly walk, and didn’t want to eat.  He was diagnosed with Atrial Fibrillation.  He was in the hospital for five days and started the I’m not hungry right now saying.

It is now almost September and we have narrowed it down to cold foods…recipes.  He has lost a total of 55 lbs. And doesn’t need to lose any more weight.  So yesterday morning I made the Cobb salad.  He was looking at a soft shell I put in the oven to get crispy.  I said, look in the fridge.  He open the door and went, Oh, that looks good.  I was smiling of course, I hit pay dirt, figuratively speaking.

So now I will have to come up with more ways to get him to eat.  He wants cold food, so I will be searching Pinterest for more ways to get him to eat.  I actually got the idea from Kevin (Closet Cooking), and I’ve always given credit where credit is due.  Below is my first version of the Cobb salad:

3 green onions
1 zucchini
3-4 mini sweet peppers
1/2 can corn
1/2 can black beans
1 medium tomato
Shredded Mexican cheese

Layer on dish and add sour cream and spinach, romaine, or cabbage mix. You can use all three if you want.

Very healthy and soo good.

4 thoughts on “Recipes

  1. I found your blog by reading a comment you left on another blog. My blogs are also free WordPress blogs. I am about to turn 56 (in 16 days) and my life looks nothing like I expected. I had expected to have just celebrated my 33rd anniversary and be busy traveling. But as they say life happens and my husband left me for a younger woman and her young kids. Our adult daughters will have nothing to do with him for some very valid reasons. I feel lost. I can’t find a job and will be out of money soon. I don’t tell you this to make you feel sorry for me. I share it because it makes me not so alone. I moved after 30 years in the same city and I never thought learning my way around or making new friends would be so difficult.
    If interested take a look at my blogs and let me know what you think. I’m doing WordPress writing 101 and Blogging 101. They are both free and have encouraged me to write every day.
    Life123go.wordpress.com
    Daphnesbooklist.wordpress.com
    LivinglikeDemelza.com

    Like

    1. Thank you for writing to me Dede. Life can throw some pretty hard punches our way, but you just keep on keeping on. I don’t mean to sound harsh and if I am I’m saying ahead of time I’m sorry. I spent my life taking care of everyone else in my family and never spent time with my self. But when I met my third man, now my husband, I decided now is my time. Well my son and ex couldn’t understand how I put up with his family, they said Mom this isn’t you, you’ve been strong all your life and didn’t put up with anything or anyone that wasn’t polite or nice. Why did I do so? Because I had a person to save from his self, and I won so to speak.

      After all is said and done, I’m happy the first time in my life. At age 52, I found my soul mate. Dede it’s time for you to be selfish and do what makes you happy…just you. I volunteer at a park three or four times a year and Wednesday I joined a Women’s Garden Club (so not me, ha ha), but I think I’ll like it. There is always something to learn. I’m 61 years old now and I am finally doing for me. BTW, there are several quilters there and I can learn more from them too.

      I will check your blogs out and get to know you more. I would love for you to keep in touch, I’m on Pinterest and Facebook, and I could keep in touch with you here or Facebook. Joan Lomas is my name on Facebook. Take care of yourself and keep in touch. Feel free to contact me at are time.

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Hi Dede,

      Hope everything’s going good for you. I’ve been busy quilting and I will be showing off what I’ve done soon. I’ve never tried Twitter, so don’t know anything about it, but I’ll keep in touch. I’ll be writing on my blog soon. Later. Joan

      Like

Leave a Reply

