Recipes

IMG_20150729_112628

Meatballs and Brown Gravy

Meatballs

1 to 2 lbs of ground Chuck

1 large onion

3 mini sweet peppers

2 cloves of garlic

1/4 to 1/2 cup of crushed Ritz crackers

1 – 2 eggs

1 cup of homemade beef broth

3 cups water

1 can diced tomatoes

In a separate pot:

One box of beef broth

5 cups water

1 onion

4 mini sweet peppers

3 cloves garlic

2 carrots

1 – 2 celery stalks

2 bay leaves

5 cloves

10 peppercorns

1 tsp Greek seasoning

1 tsp nature’s seasoning

In pot combine all ingredients and cook for 4 to 8 hrs.  Add water when needed.

After broth is done to your liking, add meatballs and cook 1 – 2 hours.

Thicken sauce with flour water, or leave as is.

I always make my beef broth ahead and freeze then I just get what I need.

Hope you enjoy.

When my husband and I went on a cruise in 2010, I bought the cookbook that has the beef broth recipe in it.  I wanted the book because I had cod with a brown gravy and I had to have the recipe.  It was out of this world.  Since then, I’ve made my broth ahead of time.  There is much more to the recipe then I put, but I wrote the majority it.  If you try the recipe, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

